Wow Spaghetti Squash

The spaghetti squash have ripened. Well, to be honest, I was a little over-enthusiastic with the clippers and accidentally separated some fruits from their stems. Ooops. No matter they were swelling nicely so I left them to ripen on the bench. Today I put the remaining squashes in the greenhouse to toughen up their skins ready for storing after a light frost scorched the leaves, effectively calling time on the growing season. I have 18 spaghetti squashes.

I cracked one open today excited to discover what lay inside. At first glance it looked just like any other squash. So I put a piece in the microwave for 10 minutes. When I removed it, all steaming and hot, I scraped it with a fork and lo and behold SPAGHETTI!

This is the weirdest edible I have discovered so far. It looks and feels just like spaghetti. I added a little salt and pepper which improved its flavour but I felt it needed a bit of a kick, so I added a chilli sauce. Wonderfu,l and rather like chinese egg noodles. This fruit is weird. I am not sure it will go too well with bolognese, its very moist, but with stir fries… Absolutely!

3 thoughts on “Wow Spaghetti Squash

  1. Could you prepare like those horrid aubergines we used to get pre-1990’s: place in colander with a sprinkling of salt and then put lid and weights on top to force out some of the excess liquid? %)

    Like

    • Are you not a fan of aubergines Colin ? Was talking to Dave about them yesterday he was remarking on how ugly they look when they grow now you are having a pop at their taste! Poor aubergines. Am sure the squash would drain well in a colander was just being impatient and leaving it in the skin for artistic effect.

      Like

      • I love aubergines: when in season order them every week from Riverford. These days they are smaller & not as tough as old boot-leather. I find they make for a meaty texture in veggie dishes too. No, I’m all for them now. Just hated prepping them back in the days!!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

