On the eve of judgment day

The last few days have been a blur of marques, staging, watering and more watering. The idea that has bubbling away since January has now come to fruition.

This year I decided it would be fun to create an edible tea party complete with dining table chairs, teapots, tuck boxes, the lot. It has been fun but today I hit a wall. I have four sections, the herbal tea collection, the cooks garden, the salad bar and the fruit garden. The fruit garden was a NIGHTMARE !!!!!

My rhubarb has suffered in this heat so I had some very big gaps to fill. I admit…I went shopping. Not for pretty shoes no, just for a bit of stunt rhubarb and was delighted to find some Timperley early. Hoorah happy again.

On my return I was so enthusiastic I went tearing up the dirt track to the show and was stopped in my tracks by security. Apparently the ‘cameras’ had clocked me doing 26 mph in a 5 mph zone. I thought the camera notices were fake. Eek. Well at least it wasn’t as bad as last year, I didn’t get sent to the naughty step. I was ‘let off’ after agreeing to provide security with Pimm’s later this week. I can do that.

It’s all going well and I am really pleased with my display. I have stayed out of trouble, so far, and have even been entrusted with providing the display plants for the rhs Feast marquee. Here’s a sneaky peek at the garden so far….fingers crossed for judging day tomorrow.

IMG_4197

IMG_4198

IMG_4194

IMG_4199

Can’t wait to put the groovy flower power table cloth on with this cake stand…

wpid-2013-07-19-20.50.30.jpg

Already plotting next year. ‘It’s chilli up North’. An al fresco garden complete with home-made pizza oven and loads of chillies…

One thought on “On the eve of judgment day

Leave a Reply

