Live seasonally

As quickly as the leaves are falling from the trees, so my enthusiasm for gardening is fading. It’s as if I am inextricably linked to the earth and am powerless to resist nature’s shifting consciousness. I am consumed by the desire to hibernate, to curl up into a ball, to stay safe and warm where the cruel winds and harsh rains can’t get me. So curl up I will, safe in the restful arms of winter slumber.

It’s this crazy life that makes me question my primeval impulses. A society that demands we never stop, our lives musn’t fluctuate, like the tides. We are on a constant treadmill, got to keep moving, or so they would have us believe.

‘ For one thing, the culture we have does not make people feel good about themselves. We’re teaching the wrong things and you have to be strong enough to say, if the culture doesn’t work, don’t buy into it.’                                                                             Tuesday’s with Morrie by Mitch Albom

I’m not buying into it. As I watch the leaves flutter from the trees, the late flowering perennials slowly lose their vigour and fade while plump fruits ripen and tumble to the ground. Even the sun is taking a break, giving our living, breathing, wondrous, natural realm time to rest. Tiny creatures and furry mammals build comforting nests, a place to while away the winter months. Have you ever wondered at the irony of it? Us, building bug houses and boxes for these creatures, do we think we can do it better than they? Or is it guilt, a niggling awareness that we may have upset their natural habitat and have to make amends?

I know nature has got it right and I am choosing to live seasonally. I know that now is the time to gather in the harvests, make those juicy ripe fruits into jams and chutney’s. My cupboards will be filled ready for the months ahead. It’s time for industrious activity in the kitchen, the garden can wait. When you choose to live seasonally, you eat seasonally and vice versa. Nature has a way of ensuring it all works well, a never ending circle of life.

One thought on “Live seasonally

  1. Energy for the garden does seem to wane for me too at this time of year. I like to look and enjoy the product of all the labor that has gone into the garden since March. I consciously resist sales at nurseries in order to avoid purchasing anything that has to be planted (aside from bulbs and peonies, which must only be planted in this time of year) so I can use what energy I do have on the tasks that are necessary to do no : raking up leaves, cutting back peonies, taking in pots, curling up hoses, etc. And, of course, making mental lists about what to do first thing next spring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

