Warm green bean salad with summer savory dressing

I have just discovered a bundle of beans at the bottom of my canvas bag. I must have IMG_2265picked them at least four days ago, yet they are as perky as any I have stored in the fridge. I suspect I went out to pick the raspberries and, spotting the long slender pods dangling, I must have impulsively picked a crop and stuffed them in my bag. I have a medley of French beans, runner beans and the crisp pods of late sown mange-tout. Perfect for a seasonal mixed, green bean salad.

Most recipes call for green bean salads to be served cold, but I just can’t see the satisfaction in this. I like my green beans warm. Cold they go a bit, well, squeaky and unappetising. Running a cooked green bean under water ‘shocks’ it and who would want to eat a shocked bean? Not I, I want my beans warm, tender and relaxed.

This recipe is quick, easy, satisfying and you can mess around with the herbs to change the flavour. I use savory in my bean dishes as the effects of the herb is believed to alleviate the effects of the beans, if you get my drift.


Serves 5

300g freshly picked green beans                                                                                   3 shallots finely chopped                                                           

For the savory vinaigrette dressing                                                                                1 tsp Dijon mustard                                                                                                        1 tbsp white wine vinegar                                                                                              3 tbsp olive oil                                                                                                                 1 garlic clove crushed                                                                                                      1/2 tbsp finely chopped savory                                                                                       Salt & pepper                                                                 

  Boil the beans in lightly salted water for five minutes. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, whisk the mustard, garlic, and a pinch of salt together. When the mustard and salt has dissolved gradually whisk in the olive oil. Finally, whisk in the garlic and herbs and season with ground black pepper.

Drain the beans and toss with the dressing. Delicious served with a poached egg or dippy egg.

IMG_0898


                                                                                        

                                                                                                                      

Leave a Reply

