Creativity

” I am an artist! “

There, in response to an invitation to live an artful life, I have ‘outed ‘ myself. It’s such a relief to discover there isn’t something wrong with me, it’s simply that I am a ‘creative’.

I have often wondered why I couldn’t define a business card. I couldn’t narrow down what I do to one or two words. Some days I design and build gardens, other days I cook with produce I have grown in my own garden. I tend other peoples gardens, I give talks on edible gardens, I write about gardens, I grow herbs. I clearly have a passion for gardening; sometimes I feel if you cut me my blood would run green.

I can’t stick to one thing. My amazing husband Mr B thinks it’s hilarious and, when I took on a steady job in a plant nursery a few years ago, he suggested it wouldn’t last. He was right. I loved it for a couple of years then felt like an animal caught in a trap. It was time to move on.

Moving on is completely liberating because moving on means changing and changing means developing and developing is growing and growing is good.

” We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths”.

 

Walt Disney

You’ve got to love Walt Disney the cartoonist and philanthropist. I had to google philanthropist; it is a person with a “love of humanity” in the sense of caring, nourishing, developing and enhancing “what it is to be human”. So much more to that guy then funny films.

Being human is to be creative and a life lived creatively is a beautiful, satisfying life.

Gardening is my creative expression and, even in the damp, cold of winter it brings me great joy. There’s always something to do in the garden and something to look forward to, because a garden is a gift that just keeps giving.

Happy Gardening everyone !

 

Leave a Reply

