A beautiful winters day

The outside world has been transformed into a glittery winter wonderland and I am enchanted. Blue skies create the perfect backdrop for bare trees now dusted with white frost. I want to run, laugh and sing in this glorious day. I want to head for the hills and fill my lungs with the sharp, ice-cold air that will refresh my befuddled mind and make my spirit soar.                                                                                                                                 I don’t know why I love these clear, cold days so much, my daughter suggests it’s because I am a winter baby. We have a theory that everyone loves the season they were born in and for me it’s true.                                                                                                       I want to explore a cold day more than a warm one, invigorating and short these days are the perfect excuse to snuggle up with a mug of hot chocolate and whipped cream; after a brisk walk of course. I love that Mother Nature indiscriminately makes everything beautiful with a shimmering coat of ice; nothing is forgotten, even the sheds and old fences shine.

IMG_20141229_133624

Nature is clothed in glory; evergreens show off their winter finery, some adorned with rich, red berries. Forgotten leaves, the season’s remnants, come back to life with intricate outlines of white. These filigree forms make me want to draw, make me want to lose myself in their iridescent beauty. The birds are attracted for different reasons and my garden is a hive of activity. Blackbirds are hopping around throwing leaves and debris in the air in their search for food. Flocks of blue tits twitter and twirl their way backwards and forwards along this green corridor. I have no desire to garden today, no need to change coax and manipulate, because everything is perfect out there, just the way it is.                        IMG_20141229_133705

 

Leave a Reply

