Where the wild things are

I’ve gone rogue, feral, off piste as far as gardening is concerned, I’ve taken to walking on the wild side and fear I may not return. Tangle-woods carpeted with bluebells and peppered with the glistening, white globes of wild garlic flowers have turned my head. Hedgerows, awash with frothy mayflower, have lead me to secret places where birds sing, creatures creep and nature revels in springtime splendour.

IMG_1279

                                                Wild garlic flower

In my own garden the lawn is looking radiant. I love the golden yellow dandelions that are scattered throughout the long, lush grass. Shining like miniature suns they’re such merry little things I don’t want to cut them down.

The forget-me-nots that flourish in my garden will not be forgotten. Dainty flowers in the most captivating blue, arch gracefully on fine stems setting their seed far and wide. Not content with filling the border with their exuberance, they are running amok in my neighbours garden. I’m looking forward to seeing how far their journey takes them!

These self-seeders are amongst my favourites, asking nothing from me they give everything in return. Popping up here, there and  everywhere they are like natures whisper, her gentle reminder to relax, loosen life’s reins a little and live free.

The borage will be up next, another blue beauty. The bees love these starry blooms as much as I do and the whole garden will be buzzing. I’ll just pick a few flowers to freeze in ice cubes, where their simple beauty will be momentarily captured and enjoyed in the summer sunshine.

borage

Borage flower

Dandelions, wild garlic, forget-me-nots and borage are all edible. Every part of the dandelion can be enjoyed leaves, stems, flowers and roots and trust me, you won’t wet the bed!  The young leaves are the sweetest and are delicious fried up with bacon and served on a potato cake. For a more exotic dish why not dip the flowers in batter and serve as dandelion fritters.

I use wild garlic leaves to make a pesto. Pick a large bunch of leaves and rinse them well before placing in a food processor with 130 mls of olive oil, 50g of toasted pine nuts and 50g of grated parmesan cheese. Whizz it all up until it looks like a green paste, adding salt to taste, resulting in a pesto with one heck of a kick!

Forget-me-not flowers are edible and can be crystallised in sugar and used to decorate cakes. Borage flowers too can be used as cake decorations but I prefer them frozen in ice, bobbing around a cool glass of Pimm’s.

 

Leave a Reply

