Joy in the morning

Padfoot is home! He’s been back for just over a week and, much as I would love to have written about him sooner, I just haven’t had the time.
Everyone said having a puppy is like having another child and boy were they right!!! Going anywhere with him requires an extraordinary amount of time simply because he is so gorgeously cute. Strangers bend down on one knee to greet him and are rewarded with an explosion of fluffy bouncing and the occasional face washing. Mmmmm I know, lucky them!
It’s house training him that is the focus of all our attention this weekend and this requires close scrutiny on our part, the reading of many books on the subject, explorations into the World Wide Web for some interesting advice and endless trips into the garden.

The latter I, for one, am enjoying immensely.

It’s 8 am on a Sunday morning and here I am, sitting comfortably on the garden bench, in my tartan pyjamas, writing. The first cup of bitter, black coffee has been supped and enjoyed and I am content in the knowledge that there is more to be had. So, perked up with caffeine and happy with life I sit here and write while my garden is dug up and the kitchen floor I have just mopped will soon look like a mud bath.

image

I’m not normally an early riser; I love my bed but I am discovering the delights of early mornings. I was warned of this too, it was whispered to me like an illicit secret.

Each morning the day presents me with something new; a raindrop caught in a leaf that shimmers in the morning light or a freshly bloomed poppy that lasts for just a single day, it’s beauty magnified by its fleeting nature.

image

Tiny birds dart in and out of the Christmas tree pecking at the unsuspecting bugs hiding in the scented needles. A magpie caws harshly momentarily breaking my reverie and I think dark thoughts; murderous thieves. Then Padfoot bounds past, leaping in the air for no other reason other than he can, and I catch his joy.

Because my joy comes, like his, in the mornings and the peacefulness of the day beckons to me.

“Hey there peacefulness” I say ” Hang on a sec, I’m still in my pyjamas and I need to get my wellies on before we go dancing through this glorious day!”

Have a wonderful day everyone

4 thoughts on “Joy in the morning

  1. So pleased you have your little one back , they are so part of the family aren’t they !
    Love your blog , so uplifting and nice to know that I’m not the only one that potters about the garden in her PJ’s ๐Ÿ˜Š although I’m wearing a white cotton nightie in this warm weather , do hope I don’t frighten some poor person to death when they see this ghostly figure with Tara ( our cocker spaniel ) having a last meander round the garden before bedtime !
    Enjoy your puppy ๐ŸŒธ๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ Rachael x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

